Bargain hunting and toddler tutu

spotlight

Beautiful fabrics

I did a little bargain hunting yesterday at Spotlight and found that the remnant bin had a “50% off already marked discounts” sign and after some careful consideration, decided to take these two pieces home with me.

The multi-coloured piece is 0.6m of satin that was originally $16.99 per metre, but after a 50% discount to the remnant bin and then the 50% off already marked prices, I paid $2.27, and the purple and white flowered piece is 1.3m of polyester, previously $7 per metre for which I paid $2.89.

Tutu Project

Tools for the project

I also purchased 1.5 metres of nylon netting with the idea of making my one year old a tutu skirt to dress up in.
I thought I would include a picture of the planned project along with my notions, sewing machine and much-loved overlocker.

I’m not 100% sure of what the tutu will look like, or whether she will wear it much, but I’m determined to make her one.

Miriam has suggested that I should make Emmaly (my 1 year old daughter) a bolero as she insists on wearing her dresses pulled up over her chest and behind her head so that they just sit on her arms/shoulders. *shakes head*

– Kayleigh

Leave a Reply

