Reupholstering a desk chair

I recently received a desk chair from a fellow Freecycle.org user and upon seeing it, just KNEW that it had to have a new life if it was going to live in my house. It was a ghastly browny/yellow colour made out of some seriously durable hessian type fabric that wasn’t pleasant to look at or see, and so I set to it and gave it new life!

I ransacked my stash of fabric (which is i m m e n s e) and chose some beautiful purple and green silk (unfortunately while this looked pretty it was a bad choice as after three months of use, the fabric has split and is tearing). I then found some sturdy black fabric to go on as a base, and prepared the chair.

If I was to do this chair again (which I probably should do!) I would spray paint the metallic parts while I had the base off and before I put it back together again.

Leave a Reply

